Ben Zamani Wins 2017 World Series of Poker $1,500 Omaha Eight-Or-Better Event

Ben Zamani dominated season XV on the World Poker Tour, earning Player of the Year honors. Early Sunday morning, he reminded the poker world that he’s just as good, if not better at the World Series of Poker by winning his second career bracelet.

The German-born, South Florida resident topped a field of 905 entrants in the $1,500 Omaha eight-or-better event to pick up the title and the $238,620 first-place prize. Zamani now has more than $4 million in career live tournament earnings, with millions more won online. Zamani’s previous bracelet came in 2015, in a $1,500 no-limit hold’em event where he won $460,640.

Zamani was complimentary of his heads-up opponent, Jared Hemingway. “He played well,” said Zamani. “He was aggressive enough to be dangerous.”

Other notables who finished in the money included Benny Glaser (120th), Dan Heimiller (108th), Brandon Shack-Harris (92nd), Shirley Rosario (76th), Tuan Le (42nd), Humberto Brenes (36th), Marco Johnson (23rd) and Jim Collopy (17th).

Here’s a look at the final table results.

FinishPlayer NamePayoutPOY Points
1Ben Zamani$238,620912
2Jared Hemingway$147,428760
3Alex Ferrari$103,471608
4Ryan Paluf$73,647456
5Gary Vick$53,171380
6Forrest Auel$38,946304
7Scott Buller$28,948228
8Martin Corpuz$21,839152
9Dustin Sitar$16,72676

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2017 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.


You May Also Like