Simon Brandstrom Wins Largest EPT Main Event Ever, €1.29 Million

Simon Brandstrom rallied from a huge head-up shortage throughout heads-up play against Marton Czuczor to win the EPT Barcelona Main Event for EUR1.29 million. The Swede, that defeated 1,988 entries, won the largest European Poker Tour Main Event in history.

Brandstrom certainly had not been a family name before this event. Yet he is adept on the felt, having paid for about EUR800,000 in online tournaments in the past. Now, nonetheless, he’s a “significant” casino poker champ, which is something you can’t ever before take away from him.

Simon Brandstrom Wins Extra €77K in Chop

When heads-up play began, Marton Czuczor held a slim lead over Brandstrom. Both millionaire hopefuls consented to cut almost the EUR77,000 of the continuing to be EUR2.54 million pot.

Czuczor got the largest cut– hardly– at EUR1,253,234, through a chip-chop. As well as his opponent was then assured at least EUR1,212,706. But there was still a bit of cash money up for grabs in addition to an EPT prize. So, there was incentive to proceed attempting to win.

Heads-up play began horrendously for Simon Brandstrom. He went from a mild chip disadvantage to hardly treading water. Czuczor rapidly turned his slim lead into an 4-1 advantage.

But in tournament online poker, whether you’re playing low-stakes or an EPT Main Event, it’s never ever over until one player has each and every single contribute play. Simply ask Marton Czuczor.

Brandstrom rapidly battled back as well as, eventually, gained back the lead. And afterwards he started to retreat, turning his introduce a 5-1 benefit. He then finished off his opponent with pocket 6s in a pre-flop all-in race against K-Q when the board ran out clean for him (7-2-9-A-5).

EPT Barcelona Main Event Final Table Results

  1. Simon Brandstrom (Sweden) €1,290,166*
  2. Marton Czuczor (Hungary) €1,253,234
  3. Rui Sousa (Portugal) €607,400
  4. Diego Falcone (Brazil) €436,760
  5. Giovani Torre (Portugal) €364,660
  6. Yunye Lu (China) €295,520
  7. Yohan Storakers (Sweden) €226,490
  8. Pasquale Braco (Italy) €159,580
  9. Kully Sidhu (United Kingdom) €121,760

*Indicates money won via heads-up chop.

You May Also Like