Mike Takayama Wins First Ever World Series of Poker Bracelet For The Philippines

Card Player’s 2018 WSOP coverage is sponsored by BetOnline Poker. Get a 100 percent deposit bonus, up to $1,000, by joining now. The site offers great cash game action and a chance to win more than $1 million in guaranteed tournaments throughout the month.

When Mike Takayama woke up on Friday morning, he was just one of 2,065 hopefuls in the $1,000 no-limit hold’em super turbo bounty event at the 2018 World Series of Poker. By the end of a long day, however, the 29-year-old from the Philippines had accumulated all the chips, along with his first gold bracelet, and the $198,568 first-place prize.

Takayama also scored 16 bounties en route to the victory, worth $300 each. He steamrolled the final table during it’s short 49-hand span, taking credit for seven eliminations. The former billiards standout became the first ever bracelet winner from the Philippines.

“I’m very happy,” Takayama said to WSOP reporters, “because winning the bracelet is everyone’s dream. I’m the first Filipino to win a bracelet, so I’m really, really, really happy about that.”

Notables who made a deep run included Matt Smith (3rd), Elizabeth Montizanti (7th), Jack Duong (8th), Jake Bazeley (33rd), Vojtech Ruzicka (40th), Rex Clinkscales (62nd), and Jeff Madsen (72nd).

Here is a look at the final table results.

PlacePlayerPayoutPOY Points
1Mike Takayama$198,5681080
2Lorenc Puka$122,627900
3Matthew Smith$88,938720
4Steve Jelinek$65,145540
5Spencer Baker$48,196450
6Kavish Shabbir$36,019360
7Elizabeth Montizanti$27,193270
8Jack Duong$20,743180
9Oliver Rusing$15,98890

Content : www.cardplayer.com

You May Also Like