Isai Scheinberg and Vince Van Patten Selected For 2022 WPT Honors Awards

The Globe Poker Trip has actually announced PokerStars Founder Isai Scheinberg and long time WPT commentator Vince Van Patten as the current WPT Honors Award receivers during day 1A of the 2022 WPT Globe Championships at Wynn Las Vegas.

“These two men have both made transformational contributions to the poker community, Isai as a pioneer with his incredible ingenuity and boldness, and Vince with his love and dedication to expanding the game of poker. Both honorees are truly deserving of the award,” said WPT CEO Adam Pliska in a press release revealing the pair of award winners.

Van Patten has actually been a part of the WPT throughout its two decades on the poker scene. He signed up with the WPT when it started 2003, and also has been an important part of the scenic tour and its final table programs since then. The New york city native was presented to online poker by his papa, notable star Cock Van Patten, at an extremely young age, and has actually been a player for the majority of his life, In the 1990s, helming a significant Hollywood home game that ran for years.

“I’d like to thank Adam and the whole WPT family for this award,” said Van Patten. “I am so fortunate to have been a part of this amazing company for 20 years and I have never been more proud of what WPT has become, than here at the first-ever WPT World Championship at the Wynn. It is an incredible site.”


Scheinberg co-founded PokerStars in 2001, and quickly guided the online poker site to the forefront of the market in time for the poker boom of that decade that helped spread the game around the globe. The WPT’s press release noted, “Many of the hundreds of thousands of poker players who were able to hone their craft playing on PokerStars still consider Scheinberg to be the standard bearer for how online players should be treated. Scheinberg sold PokerStars in 2014 and has spent the years since then working on philanthropic endeavors and spending time with his family.”

“I am very honored. The WPT is a very important poker company which made major contributions to the game,” said Scheinberg. “The first TV advertising PokerStars did was on WPT programming on the Travel Channel. It had a major impact that led to millions of players joining us.”

Scheinberg and also Van Patten were caused stage throughout the first break in play during day 1A of the WPT World Championships main event after they were revealed as this year’s honorees. They both gave quick remarks prior to Scheinberg needed to rush over to the included table set, where he took a seat for day two of the $25,000 buy-in high roller as one the biggest heaps amongst the 18 gamers that remained from an area of 108 access. This is supposedly the initial live tournament he has actually played in 8 years.

The scenic tour very first granted WPT Formality honors in 2017, with the intent of honoring participants of the online poker industry that have made extraordinary contributions to the Globe Online Poker Scenic Tour and the poker neighborhood as a whole. That first year saw Bruno Fitoussi, Linda Johnson, and also the late Mike Sexton recognized. Lyle Berman as well as Steve Lipscomb adhered to in 2018, while Deborah Giardina and also Matt Savage were picked in 2019.

You May Also Like