Paul Michaelis Leads PokerStars Championship Prague Main Event After Day 2

With Day 2 in the bag at the PokerStars Championhip Prague Main Event, the current chip leader is Germany’s Paul Michaelis who ended the day with 630,500 chips, ahead of Iran’s Omid Mojaverian on 597,500.

The day ended with 145 players left from the 855 who entered. With a €5,300 buy-in this means a prizepool in excess of €4.1m and a tasty €775,000 for the eventual winner. As yet, however, no cash has been awarded as only 127 get paid, meaning it will be a fraught start to the day tomorrow as the bubble looms.

Some of the many big names to fall on Day 2 include; Stefan Shillhabel, Liv Boeree, John Juanda, Koray Aldemir, David Kitai, Timothy Adams, Steve O’Dwyer, Adrian Mateos, Christoph Vogelsang and Stephen Chidwick. The field also lost the defending champion, Jasper Meijer van Putten who busted shortly before the end of the day. Some well known players who will be back for Day 3 include; Martin Staszko (78,000), Liviu “0Human0” Ignat, Mikita “fish2013” Badziakouski (151,500), Igor Kurganov (160,000), Jake Cody (252,500) James Akenhead (257,500) and Fatima Moreira de Melo (406,000).

Above: PokerStars Team Pro and former Dutch Hockey international Fatima Moreira de Melo will start Day 3 with a big stack after chipping up nicely throughout Day 2.

Michaelis, who won a WSOP bracelet back in 2015 playing Pot Limit Hold’em only took the lead late in the day when he made a full house to bust Romain Lewis in a 335k pot. This enabled him to leapfrog a few players to usurp Omid Mojaverian, who had held the lead prior to Michaelis big pot for quite some time.

Play resumes tomorrow at noon at Level 15 with blinds at 2k/4k with a 500 ante.

Chip Leaders after Day 2 – PokerStars Championship Prague €5,300 Main Event

PlacePlayerCountryChip Count
1Paul MichaelisGermany630,500
2Omid MojaverianIran597,500
3Erik WalfridssonSweden536,500
4Boris KolevBulgaria510,500
5Daniel BarriocanalSpain504,000
6Dimitrios KalaroutisGreece417,000
7Paraschos StavridisGreece414,000
8Fatima Moreira de MeloNetherlands406,000
9Kalidou SowFrance405,000
10Robert HeidornGermany394,500

Source :

You May Also Like