Sean Yu Wins World Series of Poker Global Casino Championship

Los Angeles poker pro Sean Yu took down the Global Casino Championship at Harrah’s Cherokee in North Carolina on Thursday night, topping a field of 124 players to win the lion’s share of the $1,090,000 prize pool and his first World Series of Poker bracelet.

The prestigious event sports a $10,000 buy-in, but the majority of the field got into the tournament on a freeroll by qualifying throughout the year at various WSOP Circuit stops.

Players can earn automatic seats by winning a WSOP Circuit main event or by finishing in the top 50 of the WSOP Circuit leaderboard. Players who finished in the top 100 of the previous year’s WSOP Player of the Year race, or who won a WSOP Circuit last year, have the option to buy-in in for $10,000.

Yu was making his second appearance in the Global Casino Championship. He qualified this season by winning the main event at Planet Hollywood for $170,286. For his win this week, he banked a career high $296,941.

“It feels amazing,” said Yu after his win. “It’s like 100 times better [than a regular WSOP Circuitwin]. I mean, to be back at the Global Casino Championship for the second time. The first time was a big disappointment. The second time obviously worked out for me, so I’m like super happy. It’s just amazing.”

Yu defeated Russian poker pro Alexander Lakhov heads-up for the title. Lakhov earned his seat into the tournament when he won the championship at the King’s Casino in the Czech Republic. He pocketed $183,527 for his runner-up finish.

The lone player to put up the $10,000 buy-in at the final table was five-time bracelet winner Jason Mercier. The Floridian poker pro banked $69,624 for his fifth-place showing. Other notables to make the money included Doug Carli (16th), Roland Israelashvili (15th), Ryan Jones (13th) and Dylan Linde (6th).

Here’ a look at the final table results.

FinishPlayer NamePayout
1Sean Yu$296,941
2Alexander Lakhov$183,527
3Joshua Reichard$130,498
4Jesse Cohen$94,459
5Jason Mercier$69,624
6Dylan Linde$52,724
7Will Berry$39,993
8Nikhil Gera$31,189
9Charlie Nguyen$24,804

Content Credits:

You May Also Like