Dietrich Fast Wins 2017 Asia Championship of Poker Super High Roller

German poker pro Dietrich Fast defeated a huge field of 79 entries in the $800,000 HKD($102,520 USD) buy-in Asia Championship of Poker shot-clock super high roller in Macau. For the win Fast earned $16,690,000 ($2,169,700 USD), the largest score of his live tournament career. The 2016 World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic main event winner now has lifetime live earnings in excess of $6.2 million.

As one might expect from such a huge buy-in event, there were plenty of recognizable faces at the final table including Jason Koon (7th – $378,690 USD), 2017 Card Player Player of the Year leader Bryn Kenney (6th – $481,260 USD) and Tim Adams (3rd – $1,009,965 USD). As a result of these latest scores, Koon moved into fifth place in the POY race standings while Kenney strengthened his hold on the outright lead. The POY leaderboard is presented in 2017 by the Commerce Hotel & Casino.

In the end, it came down to a heads-up battle between Fast and yet another top Player of the Year contender in Steve O’Dwyer. Fast began the final showdown with roughly a 5-to-1 chip lead, and he was able to convert that lead into a win. On the final hand of the event Fast limped in and O’Dwyer raised to 20,000,000. The flop brought the ASpade Suit9Diamond Suit8Heart Suit and O’Dwyer bet out for 13,000,000. Fast raised to 40,000,000 and O’Dwyer made the call.

The turn brought the 3Club Suit and both players checked. The JClub Suit on the river prompted O’Dwyer to move all-in for around 130,000,000. Fast quickly called with the ADiamond Suit8Club Suit for aces up, while O’Dwyer showed the 9Spade Suit3Diamond Suit for an inferior two pair.

O’Dwyer earned $1,542,450 USD as the runner-up and increased his lifetime live tournament earnings to more than $20.1 million. He also was awarded 700 POY points, enough to see him move into ninth in the 2017 standings.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dietrich Fast $2,169,700 840
2 Steve O’Dwyer $1,542,450 700
3 Tim Adams $1,009,965 560
4 Daniel Dvoress $777,140 420
5 Felix Bleiker $615,420 350
6 Bryn Kenney $481,260 280
7 Jason Koon $378,690 210
8 Huang Shan $295,880 140
9 Paul Newey $224,900 70

Source :

You May Also Like

NYC Poker Tour